COULD THIS BE REVIVAL?

Acts 10:44 ¶ While Peter was still speaking these words, the Holy Spirit fell upon all those who heard the word.

The first I heard of the outpouring in the 1990’s was from a pastor friend in New York who called me about things that were happening in services near him. He told me preaching was being interrupted by outbreaks of laughter in the congregation. I was shocked and not very happy about what I was hearing. I just wrote it off as another side journey of the flakes often associated with the charismatic renewal. You know what I mean; one week everyone needed deliverance, the next week everything was prophetic, and then there was the banners and Jewish symbolic rituals in the worship services. “Just great”, I thought, “now everyone is laughing”. I didn’t think much of it until I went to revival services myself in Rockwell, Texas. That’s when I saw it first hand, this was more than laughter, way more: God Himself had come down and His Glory and majesty were on full display. This was my first taste of revival for myself. Here are some thoughts from Arthur Wallis on the nature of revival.

“True revivals have ever been marked by powerful and often widespread outpourings of the Spirit. Many, many times the preaching had to cease because the hearers were prostrate or because the voice of the preacher was drowned by cries for mercy. Who will deny that these were outpourings of the Spirit? Who could find a more appropriate description of such scenes than the words of Luke: “The Holy Ghost fell on all them which heard the word” (Acts 10:44)? David Brainerd recorded the beginning of the wonderful movement among the American Indians in 1745 thus:
The power of God seemed to descend upon the assembly “like a mighty rushing wind,” and with an astonishing energy bore down all before it. I stood amazed at the influence, which seized the audience almost universally; and could compare it to nothing more aptly, than the irresistible force of a mighty torrent. . . . Almost all persons of all ages were bowed down with concern together, and scarcely one was able to withstand the shock of this surprising operation.”

When the Lord comes down like this it is time for man to be silent. What can you say in the manifest immediate presence of His Greatness. Lord, split the heavens one more time and come down amongst us, our generation desperately needs Your visitation.

One thought on “COULD THIS BE REVIVAL?

Leave a Reply

