WALK ON THE WATER WITH ME

Matt. 14:28,29 ¶ And Peter answered him, “Lord, if it is you, command me to come to you on the water.” He said, “Come.” So Peter got out of the boat and walked on the water and came to Jesus.

Walk on the water?! Really?! That’s what I felt the Lord was asking me to do in 1994. To step out of the place of safety I had learned to operate in and step into the supernatural. Actually He was asking me to step out of the boat of ‘how to grow a church’ jargon, into a life in the River of God. I remember it like it was yesterday, I was getting ready to take the platform in that Sunday morning service like I had been doing for years. I knew this time was going to be different. I heard Him gently say as I walked up the stairs to the pulpit, “Will you walk on the water with Me?” I really had no choice but to say yes. I was so tired of the ‘same old same old’ that I was ready to take a risk and get out of the boat. As soon as I said yes, I felt the atmosphere change in our church. The glory of the Lord was filling the auditorium. Here are some thoughts from Matthew Henry about walking on the water with Jesus.

“The communion of true believers with Christ is represented by their being quickened with him, raised up with him, made to sit with him, and being crucified with him. Now, methinks, it is represented in this story by their walking with him on the water. Through the strength of Christ we are borne up above the world, enabled to trample upon it, kept from sinking into it, from being overwhelmed by it, obtain a victory over it, by faith in Christ’s victory, and with him are crucified to it. …Thus the sea of the world is become like a sea of glass, congealed so as to bear; and they that have gotten the victory, stand upon it and sing…”
So what does walking on the water mean to you? Maybe its coming to Christ for the very first time, maybe its yielding your talents and resources to Him. Maybe you are like me and it means being willing to step out of your comfort zone into the realm of the Spirit and His gifts. Whatever it means, GET OUT OF THE BOAT. Only then will you feel the touch of Jesus upon your life.

Leave a Reply

