DEAD OR ALIVE?

Present yourself unto God, as alive from the dead, and your members as instruments of righteousness unto God.
Rom. 6:13
You can never present your old life to Christ, He has no use for it. You must see yourself as dead to sin, crucified with Christ, and alive in Him before we have anything to offer to the Lord. Our new life is precious to the Lord. When we offer ourselves to Him as living sacrifices it is like a soothing, fragrant aroma. He sees the glory of His Son in us. He sees the glory of His Son in the shedding of His blood because we have been made whiter than snow. He sees the glory of the death of His Son because our old life is dead and buried. Finally, He sees the glory of the resurrected Christ in us. This is what He is after, this is why He sent His only begotten Son to die in our place. Here are some thoughts from Watchman Nee on today’s verse.

“Many have taken this word “present” (in today’s verse) to imply consecration without looking carefully into its content. Of course that is what it does mean but not in the sense in which we are inclined to understand it. It is not the consecration of our “old man” with his instincts and resources, his natural wisdom, strength and other gifts, to the Lord God for Him to use. This will be clear at once from the little clause “as alive from the dead.” It defines for us the point at which consecration begins. For what is to be consecrated is not what belongs to the old creation but only what has passed through death to resurrection. The “presenting” spoken of is the outcome of my knowing my old man to be crucified and my reckoning myself alive unto God in Christ Jesus. Knowing, reckoning, presenting ourselves to Him: that is the divine order.”

Not only is the Father satisfied by seeing the glory of His Son in us, the world is attracted to Christ through us. It is in the redeemed of the Lord that the lost see the glory of Christ. Your family may ignore or even mock you, but if Christ reigns in your heart His glory is inescapable. Your fellow workers at your place of employment will sense that “something different about you”; of course, it is the glory of the Son. So present your new life to Christ, yield yourself to Him. You too will shine in this dark world with the glory of Christ.

One thought on “DEAD OR ALIVE?

  1. A few scriptures that popped into my mind:

    Galatians 2:20 – I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

    2 Corinthians 5:17 – Therefore if anyone is in Christ, they are a new creation: old things are passed away; behold, all things are made new.

    Ezekiel 36: 26 – A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you a heart of flesh

Leave a Reply

