I AM WITH YOU

Nevertheless I am continually with thee.
Ps.73:23
Ever feel forgotten? All of us have. Sometimes it feels like even the Lord has forgotten us? It seems like wave after wave of trouble has leveled you and the heavens seem silent. The truth is that it is impossible for the Lord to forget or forsake His own. Have you been purchased by Him? Then He has you in the center of His thoughts. His plans for you are certain and His care for you is constant. He is praying for you and is with you. His presence is nearer than you can even imagine. Charles Spurgeon has some amazing insight into this verse.
“By this is meant continually upon his mind, he is always thinking of me for my good. Continually before his eye;-the eye of the Lord never sleepeth, but is perpetually watching over my welfare. Continually in his hand, so that none shall be able to pluck me thence. Continually on his heart, worn there as a memorial, even as the high priest bore the names of the twelve tribes upon his heart for ever. Thou always thinkest of me, O God. The bowels of thy love continually yearn towards me. Thou art always making providence work for my good. Thou hast set me as a signet upon thine arm; thy love is strong as death, many waters cannot quench it; neither can the floods drown it. Surprising grace! Thou seest me in Christ, and though in myself abhorred, thou beholdest me as wearing Christ’s garments, and washed in his blood, and thus I stand accepted in thy presence. I am thus continually in thy favour-continually with thee.”
Our perception of the Lord is often not quite right. His apparent ignoring of our prayers have another purpose in mind. He wants us to want Him, not just His help. Notice what David says later in the same Psalm 73:25,26, “Whom have I in heaven but you?And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever”. When we become aware of His love for us and sense His constant nearness, we reach out to Him. He is there instantly, actually He has always been there. He is closer than our skin and His love is always there for us.

2 thoughts on “I AM WITH YOU

  1. This is soooo good!
    “He wants us to want Him, not just His help.”
    Seeking Him with intentionality and a heart yielding to all His plans for us. 🙌
    Amen!

Leave a Reply

