HOW. MUCH GLORY?

Ps. 29:2 Ascribe to the LORD the glory due his name;
worship the LORD in the splendor of holiness.
This verse has always demanded my attention. It is extremely convicting to me, how could anyone ascribe the glory ‘due’ to His name? Impossible!!! He rescued us from our pit of despair that we had dug for ourselves and delivered us from the very pit of hell and brought us into His glorious presence. How much glory should I credit to Him for that? He has kept me from destruction and blessed me beyond belief in my personal life, with my wife and children, and in my ministry. How much glory is due to Him for all of that? He has filled me again and again with the joy that comes from God Himself; how much glory should I ascribe to Him for that? Spurgeon also seemed to be overwhelmed by a continual need to worship. Here is some of what he said about worshipping the Lord.

“The Lord always deserves to be praised for what he is in himself, for his works of creation and providence, for his goodness towards his creatures, and especially for the transcendent act of redemption, and all the marvelous blessing flowing therefrom. It is always beneficial to praise the Lord; it cheers the day and brightens the night; it lightens toil and softens sorrow; and over earthly gladness it sheds a sanctifying radiance which makes it less liable to blind us with its glare. Have we not something to sing about at this moment? Can we not weave a song out of our present joys, or our past deliverances, or our future hopes? Earth yields her summer fruits: the hay is housed, the golden grain invites the sickle, and the sun tarrying long to shine upon a fruitful earth, shortens the interval of shade that we may lengthen the hours of devout worship.”
It’s not just what He has done that cries for our worship, it is God Himself. His greatness is higher than the heavens, His love stretches beyond the horizon, and His mercy is deeper than the depths of the ocean. Worship is still my only recourse. His greatness demands me to shout for joy. Let the nations see His greatness, let my praises touch the world around me. Let everything that has breath give praise to the Lord.

4 thoughts on “HOW. MUCH GLORY?

  1. I know we enter God’s realm where there is no time but I am at a loss how to convey this any other way. If all creation ascribes to the LOrd the glory due His name, 24/7 through eternity that is not even close to enough! But I will try my best and start today with my church family!
    \o/

  2. I found this interesting when I heard Pastor read it this morning , I missed while reading. “Let the nations SEE His greatness.”
    I might be reading too much into this but I believe the displaying of a changed life can gain the world’s interest more then the gospel preached. I think both are important and should not be separate. I have experienced, the world seeing changes, opening the door for hearing the unveiled gospel and the invitation to accept Jesus as Lord and Savior.
    My humble opinion.
    \o/

Leave a Reply

