SHALL NOT WANT

Psa. 23:1 ¶ The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. 

Learning to trust the Lord for my provision was a very important part of my early Christian journey. Parris and I went to Bible School in California shortly after our marriage. That first year we had our son Jeremy and learned the importance of trusting God for provision. There were food bills, Bible school tuition, rent, medical bills for Jeremy’s birth, plus all the other car and clothing costs. The amazing part of that season in our life, we never did want for anything. The Lord provided and taught us that He was the source of our supply. He is our Shepherd. Here are some thoughts from Charles Spurgeon on today’s verse. 

“I shall not lack for temporal things. Does he not feed the ravens, and cause the lilies to grow? How, then, can he leave his children to starve? I shall not want for spirituals, I know that his grace will be sufficient for me. Resting in him he will say to me, “As thy day so shall thy strength be.” I may not possess all that I wish for, but “I shall not want.” Others, far wealthier and wiser than I, may want, but “I shall not.” “The young lions do lack, and suffer hunger: but they that seek the Lord shall not want any good thing.” It is not only “I do not want,” but “I shall not want.” Come what may, if famine should devastate the land, or calamity destroy the city, “I shall not want.” Old age with its feebleness shall not bring me any lack, and even death with its gloom shall not find me destitute. I have all things and abound; not because I have a good store of money in the bank, not because I have skill and wit with which to win my bread, but because “The Lord is my Shepherd.”
Maybe you find yourself in a place of worry and fear today. You don’t see how you can possibly have enough to get by, let alone not even want. We must look to the God of David. He learned about trusting the Lord as his Shepherd when he was living in exile running for his life from King Saul. David saw God’s continual supply in impossible circumstances. When David was old he thought back at the faithfulness of the Shepherd and this was his conclusion, “I have been young and now I am old but I have never seen the righteous forsaken or his seed begging bread

2 thoughts on “SHALL NOT WANT

  1. This part of the blog hits home, “I may not possess all that I wish for, but “I shall not want.”
    Even that statement is fading away. I can relate to the man that found the field and with ALL JOY sold everything he had to purchase that field. I imagine the field may be ruddy by human standards but there was something priceless that others could not see. I imagine many of his friends called him a fool. Yet nothing would change his mind or have him take another course of action.
    The road I travel may seem pitted with hardship and obstacles but on it I have a companion. Because of that companion I do not nor shall not want!
    \o/

  2. There is nothing that we experience as His loved children, that will not bring our God glory…..we only need to be still.
    His provision is measureless,…… God gets the glory we get the JOY

Leave a Reply

